The Haven Voluntary Aided CofE/Methodist Primary School

God in all we do

Governor Information

What is the role of the Board of Governors

The School’s Governing Board is an extremely committed body of twelve people, made up from various sections of the school community. Governors are responsible for all the statutory aspects of school such as agreeing and monitoring the implementation of the school development plan and making key strategic decisions to ensure all statutory duties are met. They support and promote the Christian ethos of the school. Additionally, the Governors are responsible for agreeing the school’s budget plan, senior appointments, Health and Safety, and make decisions on building improvements and capital projects.

As a Voluntary Aided primary school the Governing Board is responsible for contributing 10% of the funds required for all capital works. Governors are involved in the everyday life of the school, often visiting to see the children and learn more about our wonderful school.


Wheel of Governance


Current Governors & Details of Appointment ~ September 2019

Governor Name

First appointment date

Renewal Date

End Date

Type of Governor

Appointed by

Hilary Walshe

Chair of Governors

12th July 2016


11th July 2020


Methodist Church

Sarah Owen

27th October 2015


26th October 2019

Foundation ~ C of E

C of E ~ Diocesan Board of Education

Nigel Jewell

4th January 2016


3rd January 2020



Sharon Trathen


1st November 2015

31st October 2041



Carolyn Kuchta

24th May 2016


23rd May 2020

Foundation ~ C of E

PCC St Richards

Ian Gardner

13th September 2016


12th September 2020

Foundation ~ C of E

C of E ~ Diocesan Board of Education

Rev Andy Melvin

6th March 2018


5th March 2022


 Methodist Church

Nick Bastin (vice Chair)

18th September 2018

17th September 2020


Methodist Church

Victoria Jenkins

24th October 2019

24th October 2023



Register of Governor Interests September 2019

Name of Governor Relevant Business Interests Any other Educational Establishments Governed Any relationships with the school staff including spouses, partners and relatives
Sharon Trathen Nil Return    
Carolyn Kuchta

Nil Return

Sarah Owen

Nil Return

Hilary Walshe Chair of Governor’s

Grandparent of two children in the school.

Ian Gardner

Nil return.

Nigel Jewell

Employee at a local secondary school.

Rev.Andy Melvin

Minister of The Haven Church.

Nick Bastin (Vice Chair)

Grandparent of two children who attends the school.

Son in laws mother is a Governor at the school.

Jemma Langley

Son is in Key Stage 2

Victoria Jenkins

Two sons within school

Employee at local secondary school

Ian Coombes

Two sons within school

Register of Governor Committees

Name Governor Category Committee
Sharon Trathen Staff Governor FGB, Standards, Resource & Pay.
Sarah Owen Foundation Governor FGB & Standards.
Nigel Jewell LA Governor FGB & Standards.
Carolyn Kuchta Foundation Governor FGB & Standards.
Hilary Walshe (Chair) Foundation Governor FGB, Resource & Pay.
Ian Gardner Foundation Governor FGB & Resource.
Rev. Andy Melvin  Ex Officio Governor FGB & Standards.
Nick Bastin (Vice Chair) Foundation Governor FGB & Resource.
Victoria Jenkins Parent FGB & Resource.
Ian Coombes Parent FGB & Standards.

Governor Area of Responsibility



Victoria Jenkins    


Hilary Walshe




Caroline Kuctha



RE & British Values

Rev. Andy Melville








Sarah Owen



Pupil Premium

Nigel Jewell




Nick Bastin




Ian Gardner





Ian Gardner